top of page
Search

The Belly




This is a recounting of a waking dream I had one afternoon many years ago...


I was relaxing quietly after a swim in the cooling waters of my friend's pool. Mellow music was playing, reflecting that same liquid grace, punctuated by the otherworldly sounds of dolphins and whales. I gently closed my eyes and was somehow transported on an oceanic journey.


A dolphin swam up to me and put its belly to my belly. I could feel the smoothness of its skin and the effervescent joyousness of its heart. We spiralled together, letting our skin slip and slide in a beautiful dance of innocence. A large shadow loomed overhead. I looked up --- a giant blue whale sailed above. Gathered inside its belly was a group of indigenous Australians. The whale was a great ship transporting them through the dreamtime. Below, a giant ring of hundreds of bright yellow fish were circling, choreographing themselves into a majestic spiral that served as a staircase. I watched with reverence as the men and women descended this shimmering spiral into the deepest depths of the sea.


The dolphin then swam around behind me, putting its belly to my back. At once, we gently rose to the surface of the water. I morphed into something akin to a young crocodile with my eyes hovering above a quiet river. My right eye met with the left eye of an old aboriginal man. We held our gaze as we slowly made our way down the river. The river eventually dissolving into a single golden light stream in a vast ocean of pure black.


thanks P, for the peace and presence


- FMH


(repost from my former blog -- Antelope, 2014)

4 views0 comments
bottom of page